Review: The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry

My Ratings:

  • The Giver– ★★★★★
  • Gathering Blue– ★★★★☆
  • Messenger– ★★★★☆
  • Son– ★★★★★
  • Overall– ★★★★★

Genre: Dystopian; Children’s Literature

Plot: The series begins in Jonas’ community– a utopia of sorts in a dystopian world. Jonas learns that the world is not as small and perfect as his community, and the truth of this new world needs to be told. The following three books follow different characters (with appearances of previous characters in each book), and shows how each community is different, and the scary traditional ways that they are all the same. Son wraps the quartet up nicely, bringing much of the plot full circle and ending on a happy not.

My Thoughts: These are not happy books. They’re emotionally straining, especially for books that you’re required to read in middle school. They hurt. You get attached, and you feel everything. Reading the second book, I had a feeling that it had something to do with The Giver, I just wasn’t sure. Then I stumbled upon Messenger and Son, and I knew I had to read them all. Gathering Blue was kind of frustrating, because I just wanted answers. But Messenger and Son wrap it up nicely. However, I do have a lot of unanswered questions, so I can’t completely give it 5 stars, even though the series is really, really great. If you haven’t read these books, you really should. Especially since The Giver is coming out as a movie in August (lord, help us).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s